About Horizon 5

The Horizon 5 is the largest model of our premier Horizon fleet and sleeps up to 12 people in 5 en-suite cabins, as well as a convertible settee in the saloon. Its spacious and fully-equipped interior & sundeck offer all the comfort and convenience you will need for a perfect vacation with a large family or group of friends.

Already available in Europe, our state-of-the-art Horizon 5 boats will also be available in Canada from 2019!

Jump aboard and take a look around with our virtual tour...

Please note: this virtual tour is of the Horizon 4 model. The Horizon 5 has 1 master cabin at the front and 4 side cabins .

Layout of Horizon 5

Horizon 5 deckplan

Sleeps up to

12

Cabins

5

Bathrooms

5
  • Boat Size: 14.99m x 4.35m
  • 1 double cabin at the front
  • 4 side cabins with convertible double/twin bed(s)
  • All cabins have ensuite bathrooms
  • Large stateroom with convertible settee (sleeps 2)
  • Rear outside seating area and large sundeck

Horizon 5's key features

Salon des Hausbootes Horizon 5 von Le Boat
  • Roomy and comfortable interior with generous headroom throughout
  • Large sliding glass doors to outside seating area at the rear
  • One bright and spacious forward stateroom with convertible single bed
  • The full kitchen/galley includes a oven, stove, large electric refrigerator, microwave, and high-quality equipment and utensils
  • Air cooling in the saloon & cabins + USB port
Horizon 5  - forward cabin
  • One bright and spacious forward stateroom with convertible bed
  • Four side cabins with convertible double/twin bed(s)
  • All cabins with en-suite bathrooms & electric-flush toilet
  • Individually controlled air-cooling + USB ports in all cabins
Horizon 5 sundeck
  • Spacious ‘fundeck’ with sunbathing area, table, sink, ambient lights, BBQ hotplate and deck shower
  • Large removable bimini (Sun Shade)
  • 2x steering positions - inside and outside + bow and stern thruster for easy handling
  • Wide gangways for easy access to all sides of the boat
  • Aft cockpit with settees to be used as second outdoor space
  • MP3 entertainment system – waterproof speakers
Horizon 5 other features
  • Large border along the boat for easy & secured access to all sides of the boat during maneuvers
  • Large aft cockpit secured with a door, ideal for children
  • Two steering positions - inside and outside
  • Bow thruster & stern thruster (NEW) for easier maneuvering
  • Rudder angle indicator & GPS speed sensor for greater control
  • Demister system for safe navigation from inside in case of rain
  • Safety box
Air cooling

When the temperatures soar, our cabin air cooling system can help make your night’s sleep a little more comfortable. Air cooling uses canal/river water to produce cool air which is blown out through vents.

 

Please note: This is not the same as air-conditioning which can achieve lower temperatures and has a thermostatic control. Performance significantly reduces if canal/river temperature is too high.

Horizon 5 Specifics

Fridge
112 L + 60 L
Freezer
Microwave
Oven / Grill
Hob
MP3/USB features
Internet access
Flat Screen TV
Flat Screen DVD Player
CD / Radio player
Heater
Fans
Air cooling (see above for details)
Air Conditioning
Cigarette lighter plug (12V)
12/220V Converter
220V on cruise (110V in Canada)
Shore Power (220V on dock)
Internal Steering Position
Bow Thrusters
External Steering Position
Moorings joystick (easy dock)
Alfresco dining
Ambient light
Sun shade (Bimini)
Deck Shower
Fridge on sundeck
BBQ / Plancha
Portable cool box
Sliding roof
Water Tank
600 L
Water draft (bottom of boat to water line)
1 m
Max. Headroom
2 m
Length
14.99 m
Fuel Tank
300 L
Engine Type
Diesel
Width
4.35 m
Air draft (height of boat from water line)
2.90 m
Toilets type
Electric
Safety Box

Good to know...

  • Rental of the boat and its onboard equipment
  • A fully equipped kitchen
  • Towels and linen for all passengers
  • A boat handling demontration prior to departure
  • Technical support
  • On-board maps and visitor information
  • Passage through locks (except in Ireland & the Netherlands where a small fee is payable)
  • For Canada, Italy and Scotland - a compulsory moorings fee has been added (included in price quoted). See compulsory costs for more details
  • Optional vacation extras
  • Boat damage waiver
  • Running costs (diesel, gas, engine wear and tear) - charged by the engine hour
  • Travel to and from the base(s)
  • Waterside serevices if you use them (i.e. moorings where a charge is applicable, pump-out if needed, water, etc)
  • Cancellation plan & any travel/personal insurance
  • Food and drink

Please note: while our Horizon 5 can sleep a maximum of 12 people in total, there is only space to comfortably seat 10 adults around the saloon table. The sundeck can easily seat 12 people however.

 

Horizon Boat Ownership Program

If you have money to invest and enjoy boating more than once each year, our Boat Ownership Program is too good an opportunity to miss. Benefits include a monthly income, 8 weeks vacation every year and access to over 16 different European regions & Canada. We'll moor, insure and maintain your boat for free!

Our Feefo reviews

Feefo is an independent and impartial review service that requests reviews directly from those who have been on a Le Boat vacation. Below you can read what our past customers think about their Le Boat experience, and trust that what you read is unfiltered, unedited and uncensored.

Added on 21 September 2019

Karl Teel said

Absolutely the best vacation for our group of friends. Everyone had their own private quarters on our very comfortable boat. The scenery was fantastic as a boat tokes you to places that you can only see from the water. It was a tremendous bonding experience as we worked together navigating the locks. The main salon and upper deck were great gathering and dining areas. The trainiong made it all so easy to operate. The staff suggested a great itinerary. They anticipated our needs and offered great suggestions including dining and fishing options. The boat, which we received great training on, was very clean and easy to use and very thoughtfully and completely equipped..
READ MORE
Added on 07 September 2019

Buce Macdougal said

Well appointed. We looked at the competition while we were on the canal. Le Boat was far superior. exceeded expectations which were high
READ MORE
Added on 07 September 2019

Jonathan Naylor said

The booking process was excellent with plenty of information ready for our trip. However the checkout was abrupt, exceptionally unfriendly to the point where the rep barged in on a guest in the bathroom before the checkout time. He accused us of damage which simply was untrue and of course the result was a withdrawal of the accusation. This is on a par with the worst of private landlords and totally unacceptable. What a shame that LeBoat spoiled our final day. Perfect boat for our needs.
READ MORE
Added on 04 September 2019

Dennis Dube said

Excellent customer service! Addressed issues promptly! So helpful and nice! Beautiful weather...beautiful area...excellent hospitality from the Canadians and the Le Boat Staff as well as the lockmasters! A lifetime of good memories made with our family aboard! Even a beautiful experience for my 89 year old mom who was aboard! If she can do it, anyone can, if they have a positive mindset and zest for new experiences!
READ MORE
Added on 02 September 2019

Steve Garman said

friendly, clean and priced reasonable. Spaceous and ideal for the seven of us. so much extra room!
READ MORE
Added on 12 August 2019

David Luck said

Check in went smoothly and the instructions were comprehensive. We had great weather which really added to our enjoyment. 4 couples on the Horizon 5 worked well with one cabin for our extra coolers and musical instruments. The beds were alright for most but too hard for some. The pillows were great. I liked the glassware. I thought there might be plastic dishes. The waterways were well marked and the park staff at the locks were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The suggested timing between towns was useful in our planning. We booked reservations at many restaurants and dined on board as well. We were told there was a French press coffee maker on board but actually there was a regular coffeemaker. Perhaps the European boats have French presses. The best day was exploring Jones Falls and anchoring in Morton Bay. Glad we did this adventure and would highly recommend it for couples and families. Overall an excellent holiday with long time friends.
READ MORE
Added on 07 August 2019

Christine Gulutzen said

2nd year we have rented a boat from le Boat. Great customer service, Boat had everything we needed, glad we checked out the website to see what all was included on the boat. Love the big Rideau lake. Smith falls and the historical waterways are beautiful. Towns were great and people along the way were friendly and very helpful.
READ MORE
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We're so glad that you had a great holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back on board another cruise soon.
Added on 28 July 2019

Lorna Grant said

Friendly staff. Excellent support throughout. The boat was better than expected The horizon 5 was perfect for our needs as a group of 8 adults. It had everything we needed and was more luxurious than expected. Great facilities especially the bbq and fridge on top deck
READ MORE
Hi Lorna, Thanks for the positive feedback. I'm happy to hear that you were well looked after by our wonderful teams and that the Horizon5 exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you on board again soon! All the best, The Le Boat Team
Added on 12 July 2019

Deborah Peppard said

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and really enjoyed the experience. We thought the boat was well appointed and very comfortable. Le Boat service was pretty good. Eli in Homps and Sophie in Castelnaudary were excellent. We had a few issues such as bikes having issues (chain falling off, handbrake didn;t work etc), we had no wifi for 5 days (we paid for 10 days), we were only given one set of towels for a 10 night hire, the air conditioner didn't work very well and we had very hot days. However, these were only small things that did not dampen our holiday at all. One major thing is that whil the service at check in was friendly, we felt the training on the boat and how to go through bridges and locks etc was unsatisfactory. We were lucky that we had an experienced boater on board, but without her we would would have not enjoyed our holiday at all - we think more time needs to be spent on instructions for the boat. A fantastic holiday overall and we would highly recommend this to others! Would have liked to have been going in the opposite direction but this direction worked really well!
READ MORE
Hi Deborah, Thank you for your feedback and we are really glad that you had a fantastic holiday overall. I’m really sorry you were disappointed with the initial briefing and the length of the instruction. Our local teams are contactable before and during your cruise to try and make the experience as enjoyable and stress free as possible so it’s disappointing to know you didn’t have the relaxing experience you, and we, would have wanted. If we can be of any further help at all, please feel free to contact our team at [email protected]
Added on 15 June 2019

Chris Lukasevich said

What a wonderful trip!!! One week with 9 others and we never got in each other’s way on the Horizon 5! So roomy!!! Everything we needed was on hand and the staff was so informative and available. Could not have been better!!! It was a 80th birthday celebration for my dad and he was over the moon!!! We all enjoyed ourselves immensely.
READ MORE